David Irvine

Terror on the High SeasI just need the visuals. After all a picture is worth a thousand words.

What and who has inspired your art work?

I’m inspired by such a range of things but I think first and foremost is originality and that variable that makes the mind think “Oh Cool!”

I am inspired by the masters Van Gogh, Magritte to modern artists like Ron English and Jeremy Fish, and Wayne White. I like artists that take a step beyond and find a new home just beyond the ‘border’.

What’s integral to the work of an artist?

I really believe artists who experiment and take risks and hack down a new path. There is some truth to the idea of being an artist is a journey. You hone and perfect your craft by means of style, execution and concept, but as well you play with new mediums, new styles and hone those as well. It’s all a personal issue, but I’d be very bored and my work would convey that if I did one thing well and just kept doing that exact same process from beginning to end.

Hip 2B Square, March 2014

Hip 2B Square, March 2014

What role does the artist have in society?

There are many roles an artist has in society–but its up to society to recognize and truly ‘see’ these roles. It could be to make the world a prettier place, or to enlighten and educate regarding serious issues,…but I think one the most important roles is to inspire! To create an energy in a complete stranger to create or become active in a way they weren’t before…that is one of the most important roles of the artist in society.

What art do you most identify with?

It truly depends on the day… from urban art to creepy macabre paintings done in the 17th century…I guess the common factor with all the art I identify with no matter when it was created is that it’s different and not traditional in theme or process.


David Irvine has been creating art for over 25 years, and is the founder of the very popular Gnarled Branch. Check him out on September 12-13 at booth N26, as part of the Queen West Art Crawl. You can also follow his work on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a comment